Dept Menu

Audience Menu


May 2018  |  Vol. 10, #3

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of the Board of Directors, we are delighted to announce the 2018 recipients of our annual awards.

Mr. Irving Sivin is the recipient of the SFP Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Sivin’s field is statistics. He worked for 40 years at the Population Council, during which time he produced more than 120 journal articles, book chapters, booklets and one book; all but one of which related to contraception or abortion (the exception dealt with population growth in the 21st century). Mr. Sivin’s analyses of the effectiveness and safety of drugs and devices in randomized multi-clinic trials were incorporated into New Drug (or Device) Applications submitted to the FDA. US approvals were granted for the Copper T 380A IUD, now called Paragard, in 1984. Approval of the Norplant came in 1990 and of the Jadelle implant in 1996. A multi-clinic international study of a progesterone vaginal ring for contraception during lactation, which Mr. Sivin conducted and analyzed, led to government approval in Chile and other Latin America countries in the late 1990s. Mr. Sivin’s analyses were also integral to efforts to extend the period of use of the Copper T380A and to understanding the safety profile of the Progestasert IUD. In addition, Mr. Sivin addressed big questions on abortion, working with Dr. Beverly Winikoff on studies of the acceptability, safety, and efficacy of the mifepristone/misoprostol abortion in China, India, Cuba, and the United States. For his many achievements, Mr. Sivin’s has previously received a Lifetime Achievement Award from Planned Parenthood. Mr. Sivin served on the Board of Directors of the European Society for Contraception and Reproductive Health Care (ESC) from 2008-2016. He was also elected twice as an Editor of the ESC’s Journal (2010-18).

Dr. Timothy R.B. Johnson will be honored with the Allan Rosenfield Award for Lifetime Contributions to International Family Planning. Dr. Johnson joined the faculty at the University of Michigan in 1993 as the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He is also Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Women’s Studies, and Research Professor in the Center for Human Growth and Development. His education and training have been at the University of Michigan, University of Virginia, and Johns Hopkins. He is Fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and Fellow of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine. He is active in international teaching and training especially in Ghana, Africa and is an honorary fellow of the West African College of Surgeons, honorary fellow of the Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons, and Fellow ad eundem of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (London). He is author of over 250 articles, chapters and books. He has served on numerous editorial boards, study sections, professional committees, societies and boards and is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Science. He is Past President of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics and Editor of the International Journal of Gynecology and Obstetrics.

Dr. Bliss Kaneshiro has been selected to receive the Robert A. Hatcher Family Planning Mentor Award. Dr. Kaneshiro is the Program Director of the Family Planning Fellowship and the Chief of the Family Planning Division at the University of Hawaii, and Medical Director of Family Planning for the Hawaii State Department of Health. A board-certified obstetrician-gynecologist, she has been recognized for her teaching, mentoring, and advocacy work with a 2011 Medical Student Teaching Award and a 2011 Excellence in Residency Teaching Award from the University of Hawai’i; a 2014 Excellence in Teaching Award from the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics; inclusion in Congressional Recognition presented to Hawai’i Reproductive Rights Doctors in 2015 by Senator Mazie K. Hirono; and the Hawai’i State Legislature’s Hawai’i Reproductive Rights Doctors Patsy T. Mink Political Action Committee Giraffe Award, also in 2015. She has authored or co-authored more than 60 publications. Dr. Kaneshiro received her medical degree and completed an ob-gyn residency at the University of Hawaii, John A. Burns School of Medicine. She completed a Fellowship in Family Planning at Oregon Health & Science University, where she also received her Master of Public Health degree, with a focus on epidemiology and biostatistics.

We hope you will join us in honoring these three deserving awardees at the upcoming North American Forum on Family Planning, taking place October 20-22, 2018, in New Orleans.


Amanda Dennis signature Stephanie Teal signature

Amanda Dennis, DrPH, MBE
Executive Director

Stephanie Teal, MD, MPH
Board President

Amanda Dennis, DrPH, MBE, Society of Family Planning Executive Director