Dept Menu

Audience Menu


Dear SFP fellows and colleagues,

On behalf of the Board of Directors, I am delighted to announce the 2015 recipients of our three annual awards.

Dr. Stanley K. Henshaw is the recipient of the 2015 SFP Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Henshaw published the first detailed report of unintended pregnancy and abortion rates in relation to women's demographic characteristics and supervised the first nationally representative survey of abortion patients, producing new information on the demographics of abortion patients. He has served as an expert witness in more than 20 federal court challenges to restrictive abortion laws and has authored or co-authored more than 125 articles, book chapters, and encyclopedia entries, principally on abortion statistics, teenage pregnancy rates, and family planning services. Dr. Henshaw currently serves as a consultant to numerous nonprofit organizations, including the Guttmacher Institute, from which he retired after 34 years in 2013. Read more about Dr. Henshaw’s work on our website.

The 2015 Allan Rosenfield Award for Lifetime Contributions to International Family Planning will be presented to Willard Cates, Jr., MD, MPH. Dr. Cates is Distinguished Scientist and President Emeritus at FHI 360. From 1994 until 2012, he served as President of Family Health International. For the two decades prior to that, he worked with the Centers for Disease Control—as Chief of the Abortion Surveillance Branch from 1975–1982; Director of the Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases from 1982–1991, where he led the integration of HIV prevention activities into STD control programs; and finally Director of the Division of Training, which he initiated to oversee CDC's scientific training functions, including the Epidemic Intelligence Service program and CDC's Preventive Medicine Residency. Dr. Cates has authored or co-authored over 450 scientific publications. Read more about Dr. Cates’ work.

Dr. Mark D. Nichols is the recipient of the 2015 Robert A. Hatcher Family Planning Mentor Award. Dr. Nichols served as the Ob/Gyn residency program director at Oregon Health and Sciences University (OHSU) for 12 years and Chief of OHSU’s Division of General Gynecology and Obstetrics for 25 years. In 2001, he started the Family Planning Fellowship at OHSU. Dr. Nichols also served as the Medical Director of Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette (PPCW) for 19 years. At PPCW, he directed the first provision of mifepristone in Oregon and the first Essure services through Planned Parenthood in the country. Dr. Nichols is currently Professor in Ob/Gyn at OHSU, and has recently semi-retired. He continues to teach and mentor medical students, residents and fellows. Read more about Dr. Nichols’ work on our website.

I hope you will join us in honoring Stanley, Ward and Mark at the SFP awards luncheon, scheduled for November 15, the second day of the North American Forum on Family Planning in Chicago.

I’m looking forward to seeing all of you there!

With warm regards,

Susan Higginbotham signature
Susan Higginbotham, MEd
Executive Director